CrdGBrKWAAE7MdNScorers: McGuigan (84)

MARK McGuigan ensured there was no happy homecoming for former Stranraer boss Stevie Aitken as his late strike sent Dumbarton tumbling out of the Irn-Bru Cup.

Brian Reid was forced into two changes following the victory over Peterhead last time out with Scott Robertson and Kyle Turner coming into the side in place of David Barron and Craig Thomson.

It was a youthful looking Stranraer bench, with four members of the club's under-20s side, alongside Christian Nade, Sam McCloskey and Max Currie.

On the field, Ryan Stevenson had a couple of early efforts off target but it was the hosts who created the better chances in the first half. Willie Gibson's free-kick to the back post was met by a sliding Ryan Thomson but Dumbarton number one Alan Martin did well to get down low and make the save.

Then, five minutes before half time, Turner played the ball into McGuigan but Martin was again equal to the low shot.

McGuigan's strike partner Craig Malcolm had a header off target five minutes after the restart but it was the Sons who should have broken the deadlock on the hour mark. Good play involving Grant Gallagher and David Smith saw a low cross fizzed in and flicked towards goal by Robert Thomson but Cameron Belford made the block with his legs.CrcgbavWcAAmG6r

Then, with the game seemingly heading to extra time, Stranraer found the winner. Substitute Nade managed to turn in the box and Martin could only palm his low shot directly into the path of McGuigan who tapped the ball into the empty net.

Stranraer: Belford, Robertson, Dick, McKeown, Bell, Agnew (McCloskey 88), Turner, Ryan Thomson, Gibson, Malcolm (Nade 73), McGuigan (Maley 89). Not used: Richardson, Sherrie, Dempster and Currie.

Dumbarton: Martin, Pettigrew, Docherty, Buchanan, Stevenson (Fleming 56), Todd, Gallagher, Robert Thomson (McCallum 68), Stanton (Smith 56), Barr, Stirling. Not used: Kassarate and Ewings.

Referee: John McKendrick Attendance: 401 HT: 0-0

SPFL 3L1 6474

1 Airdrieonians 0 0
2 Arbroath 0 0
3 Brechin City 0 0
4 Dumbarton 0 0
5 East Fife 0 0
6 Forfar Athletic 0 0
7 Montrose 0 0
8 Raith Rovers 0
9 Stenhousemuir 0 0
10 Stranraer 0 0



Grant Anderson, Kyle Turner, Jamie Hamill, Chris McGowan, Andrew McDonald (St Mirren), Max Currie, Lyle Avci (Ayr United), Cameron Elliott, Sam Lidington, Mark Lamont (East Fife), David Brownlie (Airdrieonians), David Smith (Dumbarton), Connor McManus (East Fife), Luke Donnelly (Queen's Park).

OUT: Angus Beith (end of loan), Dylan Dykes (end of loan), Dean Hawkshaw (end of loan), Ross Lyon (end of loan), Cameron MacPherson (end of loan), David Barron, Stephen Okoh, Scott Robertson (Airdrieonians), Ryan Thomson, Morgyn Neill (Stenhousemuir), Scott Agnew (East Fife), Gavin Scott (scholarship, USA).

View squad