Nade 111
Scorers: Annan Athletic - Dachnowicz (87); Stranraer - Nade (59) and McKeown (76)
A debut goal from Christian Nade helped Stranraer to an opening day win at Galabank in Betfred Cup Group F.
The Blues handed a debut to Ross Barbour, with Max Currie replacing the suspended Cameron Belford between the sticks, with Max's brother Blair in goals at the other end of the park.
Mark McGuigan, Giuliano Morena and Steven Bell joined the goalkeeper on the sidelines to leave a stretched Stranraer squad with just 15 players, including under-20s goalkeeper Nathan Brown.
It was an opening half of few chances with Stranraer surviving an early scare after the break before taking the lead.
The visitors failed to clear an Annan corner and ex-Blue David McKenna was only denied by the crossbar.
However, the game changed just moments later with the introduction of Nade.
He had been on the park less than two minutes but was in the right place to tuck home Scott Agnew's cutback.
Then, with less than quarter of an hour to play, Agnew was the architect again as his corner was headed home by Frank McKeown.
Annan pushed to get back into the game and their own debutant Przemyslaw Dachnowicz slotted home with three minutes left but they could not find an equaliser.
Stranraer: M Currie, S Robertson, Dick, McKeown, Barbour, Agnew (Turner 76), McCloskey (Osadolor 61), Thomson, W Gibson, Malcolm, Kemp (Nade 57).
Not used: Brown
Bookings: Robertson
Annan Athletic: B Currie, Lucas, Sharkey (Norman 39), Asghar, Swinglehurst, Krissian, W Robertson, Cuddihy, McKenna (Park 72), Wright, Ribeiro (Dachnowicz 72).
Not used: Mitchell, Liddell, Jaekel, L Gibson.
Bookings: Cuddihy
Referee: Steven Reid


 Pos  Team  Pld   Pts 
1 Clyde 0 0
2 Edinburgh City
0 0
3 Motherwell 0 0
4 QOS 0 0
5 Stranraer 0 0



Grant Anderson, Kyle Turner, Jamie Hamill, Chris McGowan, Andrew McDonald (St Mirren), Max Currie, Lyle Avci (Ayr United), Cameron Elliott, Sam Lidington, Mark Lamont (East Fife), David Brownlie (Airdrieonians), David Smith (Dumbarton), Connor McManus (East Fife), Luke Donnelly (Queen's Park), Adam Cummins (Queen's Park), Max Ashmore (Ross County).

OUT: Angus Beith (end of loan), Dylan Dykes (end of loan), Dean Hawkshaw (end of loan), Ross Lyon (end of loan), Cameron MacPherson (end of loan), David Barron, Stephen Okoh, Paul Woods (East Kilbride), Scott Robertson (Airdrieonians), Ryan Thomson, Morgyn Neill (Stenhousemuir), Scott Agnew (East Fife), Gavin Scott (scholarship, USA).

View squad